HOW TO USE KONJAC SPONGES

Konjac sponge Kopie

A trending beauty topic, which once again (after BB creams and cushion foundations) origins from the asian skincare market: The Konjac Sponge. But what’s the buzz around it? What to they do? How do you use them? And where can you get them? I’ll tell you about my personal experience with Konjac Sponges, review their benefits and explain how they changed my skincare routine completely.

My personal history with the Konjac Sponge

Illustration_la belle vie_3

I already talked about my skincare routine a while ago, which has changed a lot since I discovered these little sponges. Just to give you a few rough facts: Before, I often suffered from dry and flaky skin of my nose, which I found particularly annoying since foundation always emphasized it. Despite drinking more than I used to and using regular facial exfoliators, I did not completely get rid off. From time to time it got worse and then better again but I was never fully satisfied. I heard about Konjac Sponges on a couple of different platforms but I was never really interested. Just before I bought one, I read an exciting article by Lisa Eldridge, which got me thinking. While I was in Stockholm, I had to visit the local & other stories and their great beauty department. And there I saw them for the first time in real life. If I remember correctly, I had really bad hay fever back then and my nose was not only dry but also red and sensitive. I did not want to use my Aesop exfoliator as I found it too aggressive, so I just gave the funny looking sponge a go. It couldn’t get worse was my initial thought. After the first time using, I noticed my skin got smoother and over the next week I received the softest skin I ever had. Although I never suffered from Acne and don’t have any scars on my face, it was still not that soft due to its dryness. At the beginning I used the Konjac Sponge twice a day but soon I realized, once in the evening is enough for me. Not to forget mentioning, since I included the sponge in my daily routine, I did not touch any of my usual exfoliators. But what is a Konjac Sponge exactly?

The origins

A Konjac Sponge is a natural product made from the fiber of Konjac roots, which are harvested in Asia, e.g. Japan. When it’s dry the sponge is very hard and has a porose texture with little bubbles in it. It comes in different forms and colors suited to various skin types ranging from sensitive, aging to dry and oily skin. With the contained Konjac fiber, the sponge absorbs lots of water, which makes it feel like rubber on the skin.

The benefit

Due to its unique  texture, it can be used to gently cleanse the skin of any dirt, impurities and dead skin. You can say it’s an all rounder for your skin care routine.  I primarily like it for it’s exfoliating abilities and the reason it does not irritate my skin. Personally, the cleaning benefit has only secondary priority but I guess with not very oily skin and hardly any pimples (ever) I don’t need it so much. Yet, the best Konjac Sponge always depends on your skin condition. Luckily, there are many different versions available now, which will perfectly suit your individual skin type.

How to use it

As I said before, Konjac Sponges are very hard when dried properly. Never try to use a dry sponge on your skin, it will only damage it and cause irritations. Soak it in water and wait until it is plumped up before using it. Some people like applying it in combination with their cleanser, foam, liquid or gel. I however, just like to use it with water to make it last longer and to lower the amount of bacteria in the sponge. Typically, I’d take my makeup off with my The Body Shop Cleansing Butter and once I washed my face, I’d give it a light massage with the Konjac Sponge. Normally, I’d go in circular movements around my face, particularly on my forehead, nose and cheeks. These are typically the areas, I get very dry. In total this little massage doesn’t take longer than 1 min. and I instantly have perfectly clean and smooth skin.  Once you are done, rinse the Konjac Sponge, wash it with water and let it dry until the next usage. I discovered, if the sponge can’t dry properly, e.g. only from one side, it can develope a faint smell, like the one you get when you leave a wet towel in the washing machine for too long. So try to find a spot in your bathroom where it can hang free to dry from both sides. Also, despite the fact I only use with water to minimize bacteria and smell alike, I wash it from time to time with a little bit of soap. You should replace the sponge after 1-3 months depending on how often you use it. For me 2 months is fine but keep in mind whatever you do with the Konjac Sponge it’ll accumulate bacterias over time and you simply put them back in your face when cleansing the skin. Kind of contra-productive I’d say.

Where to get it

The Konjac Sponges just seem to appear everywhere now and there are a couple of alternatives ranging from cheap drugstore products to the original Konjac Sponge brand. I bought my first at & other stories and my second in a Duty Free Shop. I assure you, you don’t need to go to such exotic places to get it. For the Germans, check out Rossmann for cheap alternatives, which may be interesting if you just want to give it a try. The original products, you can easily find at Douglas, preferably online, or you can simply check out your local perfumery and drugstore.

Amélie

One thought on “HOW TO USE KONJAC SPONGES

Leave a Reply

